DIY? No thanks!

dsc_1035There was a time, a few centuries ago, when everything was done by hand. You planted seeds in the fields, tended to the crop, harvested it, milled the grains into flour, kneaded the dough and baked bread out of it. Every family did it. Similarly, you cut and dyed cloth and sewed it into a garment by hand.

Then the industrial revolution came in the 19th century, and mechanization began. Since then, machines have taken over much of our work, and everything is produced in industries at a fraction of its original cost (I read somewhere that in the 17th century, a shirt cost ~$200 to make, thus most people had only two sets of clothes for daily wear.) We have essentially become “deskilled”.

Since the vast majority of us have been systematically deskilled, we have come to appreciate those who can actually display some skill- ergo the rise of the DIY-er.

The internet is full of DIY projects- for your home, garden, kitchen, gifting etc.

You look at pinterest boards, and the artfully  photographed DIY projects inspire you to do something. After all, being creative is mentally stimulating and deeply satisfying.

You start dreaming. You are going to make your friends jealous by showing them how a nerdy girl like you can flex a DIY muscle to come up with amazing crafts.

With all these thoughts in mind, I head to the nearest craft store and start browsing through aisles of crafting supplies for various projects, some of them requiring nothing more than a six -year old level assembly to complete them.

Here’s what I notice-

  1. Everything is very, very expensive.
  2. Choices, choices (confusion, confusion)!
  3. There are such detailed instructions for most projects that the finished product might still resemble an assembly-line product made in a factory.
  4. What I have in mind is not quite there. craft1

Finally, I manage to buy some cardstock, colored pens, jewelry supplies, embroidery floss and cloth for my craft ideas. The bill is larger than weekly grocery purchase.

So I start with DIY jewelry. With some struggle, I manage to create some earrings and necklaces. I wear them the next day, they don’t look that great. While rushing down steps at the train station, my necklace falls apart and the beads scatter. By the time I reach my workplace, one earring is missing one bead.

Well, with repeated efforts, the durability improves to 2-3 wears.

(I have bought carefully curated  mass-produced jewelry pieces (during sales) for less than 10 dollars each that have lasted me years and garnered compliments.)

Then I start an embroidery project with great gusto. I used to be good at it when I was young.

Several months later, it lies forgotten. Hand embroidery takes time, and I have none.

Meanwhile, my cabinets are cluttered with half-used and unused craft supplies. craftermath

Remember the third thing I bought? Now, it is easier to make DIY greeting cards, so I do end up completing that project. (I think this is the only one that is probably less expensive than buying printed holiday cards).cards

My DIY cards showcasing traditional henna patterns

Moral of the story:

  1. DIY is expensive.
  2. Durability is questionable.
  3. DIY takes up a lot of time.
  4. One DIY project is enough at a time.
  5. I prefer to buy things from stores because I love my time and money.diy

(source- Pinterest)

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. A Hearty Nomad · January 22, 2017

    I’m still working on traying to finish a pair of mittens, it’s been 4 years lol
    I bought all materials but forgot I didn’t know how to knit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. loisajay · January 22, 2017

    Ha! I love the last words of wisdom–how you see almost every DIY project. I shop as local as I can. That way I support a local crafter, I know somebody made it and I am not out $92 and have a bunch of craft supplies lying around! Good post.

    Like

  3. allthoughtswork · January 22, 2017

    Everybody’s surrounded by an ocean of free stuff.

    I saved old clothes and learned to sew, now over 3/4 of my closet is handmade and people have offered me money for it. I saved old Sticky Notes and learned to make my own paper, now all my handmade cards look like they cost $14 dollars. I saved pieces of wood and made a keyboard stand for my standing desk (which I also made).

    You Tube tutorials are free, baby.

    Liked by 1 person

    • iheart11 · January 22, 2017

      I hear you, and I wish I could do that, however, it takes a lot of time and effort to get it right. I just realized that DIY is not for me, because I am looking for shortcuts.

      Like

  4. Laxmi · February 27, 2017

    Sahi baat hai DIY mere liye nahi hai.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment